브라우저가 최신 버전이 아닙니다. 사이트가 제대로 표시되지 않을 수 있습니다. 브라우저를 업데이트해 주세요.

Where can I manage my users?

Users can be added to any paid Semrush subscription (Pro, Guru, or Business) from the Subscription Info page. Alternatively, contact us via phone or email.

Buy more users

Once you have users on your account, you can manage units and permissions from the User Management (Manage Users) option under My Profile.  

Where can I manage my users? image 2

Once you are in User Management, the list of current users will be displayed. The owner’s email and limits will be listed at the top and each user under your account will be listed below. There are 3 roles when you have an account with more than one user:

  1. Owner
  2. User
  3. Admin

If you are the initial account holder that pays the subscription and originally signed up for the Semrush account, you are the owner. All of the added email logins are users. Admins are users that the owner gives management permissions to. 

Admins can also automatically see every user's projects (in Editor mode), so a user doesn't need to share their Projects with the admins or owner of the account for them to know what they’re working on. More details on what each role can do can be found here

Make a User an Admin

To make an existing user an admin, go to User Management and click the edit button on that user’s row.

User Management tab

From there you can edit their units and change their role from User to Admin.

Edit user pop-up window

How Units Work in a Team

Semrush offers two ways of distributing subscription units to a team–individual limits and shared limits. An account admin can manage it by clicking the gear button in the upper-right corner on the User Management page.

User Management settings button

Limit sharing options

When you add teammates to your account, the shared limits setting applies by default. Shared limits allow everyone in a team to spend the overall subscription units without individual limitations. This spares account owners the mundane task of allocating units individually so users have freedom in spending the available account limits according to their needs. This setting applies to the account as a whole and all its users.

Please note that the .Trends solution limit cannot be shared with the other users under your account. This add-on should be allocated individually to each user. 

On the other hand, allocating individual limits allows you to give a specific number of subscription units to each user in a team. The benefit of this is that you can control how many units can be used by each team member and distribute the units equally among the users under your account. Keep in mind that allocated units are always subtracted from the owner's available amount. In case a user exceeds the given limit, an owner or an admin will have to edit the allocated units manually.

Both an owner and an admin have the ability to distribute units to the other users on the plan by either allocating individual limits or giving access to a shared pool of units. 

Please bear in mind that in a shared Project, units that relate to Project tools such as crawled pages (Site Audit), keywords to track (Position Tracking), social profiles (Social Media Toolkit) and SEO Ideas units (On Page SEO Checker) will all be taken from the user that owns the Project.

So if a Project is created by Randy and Randy shares it with Joe with “edit” access, when Joe edits the Project it will take units from Randy’s account.

Therefore, if you’re using individual limits, you need to distribute the subscription units to the user on your team that will be the Project owner. When using the shared limits setting, you don’t have to worry about it as each user will be spending the limit from the shared pool of units.

To illustrate, let’s imagine a four-person team. You are the owner and you add your three teammates (Sally, Randy and Joe) as users to your Semrush subscription. You decide to use the individual limits setting to control the number of units available to each member. You trust Sally the most so you appoint her as an admin and keep Randy and Joe as users. 

Since Sally is an admin, she distributes 1 Project, 100 crawled pages and 100 keywords to both Joe and Randy’s accounts. This takes 2 Projects, 200 crawled pages and 200 keywords out of the total subscription’s pool of units.

Randy creates a Project and shares it with Joe with “edit” permissions so they can both make changes in the same Project. Then, Randy sets up Position Tracking and adds 100 keywords to the campaign. 

When Joe tries to add 15 new keywords to the Project, he gets blocked. But, since Randy created the Project, all of the activities in the Project must come from his account. Therefore, Joe currently doesn’t have access to those units. 

Joe tells Sally that he can’t add keywords to the Project and explains the situation. Luckily, Sally remembers what she read on the Semrush Knowledge Base about how units work. 

So, to fix the issue, Sally goes into the User Management interface and takes the 100 keyword units from Joe’s account and places them into Randy’s account. Now, Joe can go back to Randy’s Project and add the keywords they want to track. 

How to Distribute Units 

You can switch between individual and shared limits anytime by clicking the gear button in the upper-right corner on the User Management page.

User management limits sharing

However, you should keep in mind that switching from the shared setting to the individual one will reset the limit for users under your account to zero so an owner or an admin will have to allocate the units manually for them. 

Switching from shared to individual limits

When you switch from the individual setting to the shared one, the previously allocated units will get lost and users will be able to spend the overall subscription units without individual limitations.

Switching from individual to shared limits

If you need to distribute more units to a user or take units away from a user, click the pencil button in the row of that user. 

When you click the pencil button, you will see a window that shows the user’s account information, role, and current unit balance. Simply add or remove units from a user's account by typing the units you want on their account in the window. You’ll see a hint with the number of available units that you can distribute from the owner’s account. When you're finished distributing limits, hit "Save."

Allocate units window

In the same window, you can upgrade a user to become an admin for your corporate account. Admins can add, remove, or edit user accounts on the subscription.

To the right of the Edit button there is a delete button where you can remove a user from a corporate subscription.

remove user button

Projects

The Projects tab lists all of the projects on the account. The Owner and Admins will be able to see and edit all of their own projects, as well as view, edit, delete and share all projects created by users.

User management - different owners

With each project, you can see who is the Project owner and what day the Project was initially created. You can also change the official owner of the Project with the checkbox and “change owner” button (watch below). 

Note: When someone leaves the company and gets deleted from the corporate account, all their projects are automatically transferred to the Owner account.

User Management - Projects transfer

If you want to share any of your projects, you can do it right through this dashboard. You won’t have to go to your projects list to do it, instead just click the share your projects button in the top right, directly next to the invite user button.

Query Log

Here you can see the queries that users under your account have entered in the Semrush search bar. You can see which user made the query, when they made it, what reports they were using, and what database the data came from.

Query log tab

Activity Log

The Activity Log is where you can reference the dates of user management activities such as invitations, changes to limits, changes to user roles, and more.

Activity Log tab

자주 묻는 질문
더 보기